Victorian Volcanic Plains Conservation Management Network

Raising awareness about the value and use of native grasslands, seasonal wetlands, grassy woodlands & other ecosystems on the Victorian Volcanic Plains

Time to make sure your sightings count

Featherheads near Woorndoo

Featherheads near Woorndoo

Are you like me and keep a record of the plants or birds you see at certain sites when you are out and about? Recently I have been gradually adding my lists to Victoria’s Biodiversity Atlas. Once you have registered and  read the instructions you can be of part of this ‘citizen science’ work and add your sightings of Victorian animals and plants to the atlas.

The Atlas has recently had 20% more records added and our sightings and observations can contribute further to the state’s knowledge of our biodiversity and threats such as weeds and pest animals. I set my records up as different projects to assist me in adding additional lists for a site later on.

To enter your sightings or just view the comprehensive info, visit: www.delwp.vic.gov.au/environment-and-wildlife/biodiversity/victorian-biodiversity-atlas

Comments are closed.